SPI's Scientific Committee and Scientific Consultants

The Scientific Committee is responsible for determining the projects that SPI will develop, implement, and fund.
SPI's Scientific consultants collaborate with the Committee to review projects in their areas of expertise.
* Denotes members of the Scientific Committee.

Ryan K. Al Jurdi, M.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Michael E. DeBlakey VA Medical Center, Houston Texas

Steven Altchuler, M.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry, Mayo Graduate School of Medicine

Alan Apter, M.D., Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Sackler School of Medicine, Tel Aviv

José Bertolote, M.D., Coordinator, Mental and Brain Disorders, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland

David Brent, M.D., Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of Pittsburgh, Medical Center

Yeats Conwell, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry and Co-Director of the Center for the Study of the Prevention of Suicide, University of Rochester

*Edward Dunne, Ph.D., Director of SPI's Survivor Initiatives Program

Alexandra Fleischmann, Ph.D., Evidence, Research, and Action on Mental and Brain Disorders, Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse, World Health Organization

*Kathleen Foley, M.D., Professor of Neurology, Weill Cornell Medical College; Director, Project on Death in America, Open Society Institute, Soros Foundation

Daniel Ford, M.D., Vice Dean for Clinical Investigation, School of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University

*J. Christopher Fowler, Ph.D., Deputy Director of Research at Menninger Clinic

*Madelyn Gould, Ph.D., M.P.H., Professor of Clinical Epidemiology in Psychiatry, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons

Deborah Hales, M.D., Director of Education and Career Development, American Psychiatric Association

Ulrich Hegerl, M.D., Ph.D., Professor of Psychiatry, University of Leipzig, Germany

*Herbert Hendin, M.D., SPI CEO and Director of Special Projects; Professor of Psychiatry, New York Medical College

Patricia R. Houck, M.A., Statistical Services Administrator, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Susan Hughes, Senior Research Coordinator, Baylor College of Medicine

Gary Kennedy, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Jouko Lönnkvist, M.D., Research Professor and Director, Department of Health and Alcohol Abuse, National Public Institute of Finland

John T. Maltsberger, M.D., Associate Professor of Psychiatry, Harvard University

Laura Mufson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology, Department of Psychiatry, Columbia University

Jane Pearson, Ph.D., Chair, NIMH Suicide Research Consortium

Cynthia Pfeffer, M.D., Professor of Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medical Center